Readers of the Pack: Legendborn by Tracey  Deonn

Readers of the Pack: Legendborn by Tracey Deonn

by
78 78 people viewed this event.

A Young Adult Book Club

Are you interested in attending?
Call, email or drop by the Shop to let us know that you are interested in attending.
10% discount for all Book Club books purchased.

About the book:

Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy Deonn’s YA contemporary fantasy Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend and a lot of Southern Black Girl Magic. After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants nothing to do with her family memories or childhood home. A residential program for bright high schoolers at UNC-Chapel Hill seems like the perfect escape – until Bree witnesses a magical attack her very first night on campus. A flying demon feeding on human energies. A secret society of so called “Legendborn” students that hunt the creatures down. And a mysterious teenage mage who calls himself a “Merlin” and who attempts – and fails – to wipe Bree’s memory of everything she saw. The mage’s failure unlocks Bree’s own unique magic and a buried memory with a hidden connection: the night her mother died, another Merlin was at the hospital. Now that Bree knows there’s more to her mother’s death than what’s on the police report, she’ll do whatever it takes to find out the truth, even if that means infiltrating the Legendborn as one of their initiates. She recruits Nick, a self-exiled Legendborn with his own grudge against the group, and their reluctant partnership pulls them deeper into the society’s secrets–and closer to each other. But when the Legendborn reveal themselves as the descendants of King Arthur’s knights and explain that a magical war is coming, Bree has to decide how far she’ll go for the truth and whether she should use her magic to take the society down – or join the fight. An explosive fantasy debut that’s perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Leigh Bardugo and Sarah J. Maas!

Additional Details

Registration email/URL - books@qbfbookshop.com.au

To register for this event please visit the following URL: https://quickbrownfoxbookshop.com.au/book-clubs/ →

 

Date And Time

27-09-2023 @ 04:00 PM
 

Event Category

Share With Friends